In April 2017, a Special Election was held, and 85.82 percent of Lopezians (940 people) voted to create the Lopez Island Hospital District.

In the same election, voters selected five Commissioners to govern the District. Following the first election, Commissioners will serve six-year terms; however, the first Commissioners had varied terms to ensure staggered turnover.

One of the first actions of the Commissioners was to appoint a Superintendent. The Superintendent is responsible for the efficient administration of all District affairs. If you have questions about the District that aren’t answered here, please contact the Superintendent:

Renee Koplan
Office hours vary — appointments are encouraged!